CMS reference guide to support sixth grade exploration of volcanoes and earthquakes.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2014
- Database Log-In Information
Click on the link above and use the CMS school-wide password to unlock log-in information for all of our databases and subscription resources!
- Science Online
Search within "Weather and Climate Topics" in this database and/or use keywords to explore volcanoes and earthquakes as a general topic, or names of specific natural disasters for more detailed information.
- Science in Context
Links to numerous scholarly resources about volcanoes.
- Science in Context
Links to numerous scholarly resources about earthquakes.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
A variety of resources that link to websites about volcanoes, their history, current presence and aftermath, and how and why they are formed.
- Volcano World
This resource from Oregon State includes an alphabetical list of all volcanoes, current eruption reports, and interviews with volcanologists,
- Michigan Technological Institute Volcano Page
A comprehensive list of volcano websites and links. A great go-to resource to find more information in a variety of sources.
- Smithsonian Institute: Global Volcanism Project
The Smithsonian's Natural Museum of History presents their Global Volcanism Program. It includes volcano information, database, and an interactive map.
- USGS Volcano Hazards Program
The U.S. Geological Survey is a conclusive resource for volcano updates and hazards. Be sure to check out the "multimedia" page for awesome image galleries!
- How Volcanoes Work
Describes the science behind volcanoes and volcanic processes. The site is sponsored by NASA via Project ALERT. Subheadings include: eruption dynamics, volcanic land forms, eruption products, eruption types, historical eruptions, and volcanism in other worlds.
- National Geographic: Volcanoes: Earth's Fiery Power
A brief article that links to some great photo galleries.
- USGS: Earthquakes Hazards Program
An outstanding resource from the U.S. Geological Survey explores earthquakes, including: latest quakes, today in earthquake history, cool earthquake facts, the science of earthquakes, and earthquake pictures and animations.
- Faultline: Seismic Science at the Epicenter
Information about earthquake history, information on how/why earthquakes form, damage control, and activities and media.
- The Tech Museum
An introduction to earthquakes, including information on earthquake history and safety.
- Historic Earthquakes
University of California at Berkeley presents the Jan Kozak collection of historical earthquakes. Links to images of earthquakes and their aftermath throughout history.
- National Geographic: Forces of Nature
A visual description of earthquakes, where they occur, their causes, types of faults and forces, trigger points, and maps.